Yet Another Wood Stove

I “foraged” this popcorn can from someone’s recyclables. I knew I’d make something out of it, and decided on a wood stove. This isn’t as nice as my postal stove, but it wasn’t meant to be. It just shows what can be done with “trash” in a minimal amount of time.

100_1109

I decided to build this upside down. Why? Because I have a bat fetish, that’s why! No I mean the can would be inverted, for 3 reasons: the top is wider, allowing for a greater heat base,  with the lid on the bottom it would allow for easier clean out, and if the lid was up top there would be the chance of smoke leaking out.

100_1110

First part of the Sapporo can chimney installed. This was scavenged from the postal stove…I’ll make a better one for it once I fix it…and if I ever have the funds to finish my bicycle camper and mount the postal stove in it!

100_1112

Inside view showing flaps in the flue that were cut and folded over to secure it.

100_1111

More “trash”. I had this laying around. Unfortunately denatured alcohol is now sold in plastic containers =( This will be the stove door…and possibly a baffle.

100_1113

100_1114

Inner lines are what will be cut out of the body.

100_1115

I always get caught up in the making and forget to take photos of the process! Why I’ll probably never make an instructables! The next thing I did was take the piano hinge off my heiny keg wood “stove” and mount the door. Then I made a latch and installed it. Then I took the scrap from the stove body and made the cover for the air inlets. I laid the cover on the door, traced it, then drilled the air inlets, then mounted the cover with a rivet.

100_1116

Gratuitous shot of the latch. The whole door flexes, so I didn’t have to make the latch on a pivot point.

100_1117

100_1118

This isn’t airtight when closed, but it serves its purpose. Just showing what can be done in a pinch, after all!

100_1126

Rudimentary chimney finished!

100_1121

Looks like someone may have stolen the popcorn!

100_1122

I’ll build a trap for those popcorn gnomes yet!

100_1127

Just enough room for a hiking pot (filled with popcorn kernels…rotten gnomes, take the bait!).

NOW LET’S GET OUR PYROMANIA ON!

100_1128

FIRST FIRE OF 2013!!! You can see the sticker burning off the top.

100_1129

Lights out!

100_1135

>;D>

100_1138

Works with the door closed!

And because I can’t get enough fire:

100_1142

Today it’s a candle heater!

100_1143

This is a crayon and carbon felt tuna candle!

100_1144

Gotta make sure it works with the door shut!

Leave a Reply

